Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting 42nd Street Cafe and Bistro. We'd love to have your feedback!

Long Beach

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to 42nd Street Cafe and Bistro and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Kathrynhcook 3 days ago

House-Made Vanilla Brioche French Toast

Four of us had the BEST brunch! Two of us had the French toast as a side and it was amazing! We shared the beignets ... they are to die for:). The table was very happy with their entrees: Eggs Benedict, Muesli, eggs and meat and the Hangtown fry. We always try to stop here when down because you can always count on the food and service. This was one of the restaurants that has taken COVID precautions seriously and we felt so comfortable. Going back in a few weeks and hope to have dinner too!

E 7 days ago

Eggs & Meat or Seafood

Filling, flavorful, fresh and perfectly breaded. EXCELLENT customer service, as well!

Sandrav4 about 1 month ago

Flash-Fried Razor Clams

We eat at 42nd Street every time we visit Long Beach! The food is amazing and our kids love their hot chocolate!

Hsheeran1986 about 2 months ago

Chicken-Fried Steak and Eggs

Always a great meal and very friendly staff. Bloody Mary was very good also.

Rachelstraw0521 about 2 months ago

Jambalaya Omelet

AMAZING!!!! I have already referred so many co workers and friends to try this cafe! Great service and amazing food!!!

Kay 2 months ago

Skillet-Fried Chicken

Unbelievably good fried chicken. Seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Leslea 3 months ago

House-Smoked Salmon Scramble

The House-Smoked Salmon Scramble was delicious! Just perfect. I will be sure to return to enjoy it again. Served with fried potatoes and toast. House made jam served with the toast. Really good jam.

Langk3 3 months ago

Eggs Benedict

Amazing Food!!!! Superb Bloody Mary's! Great atmosphere. Very I retesting History! Super kind and attentive staff. Complementary postcards they will send for you! We stopped here on a when for breakfast and could. Not have been happier. We will absolutely be back again!

Robins98856 3 months ago

Best Bloody Mary On The Beach

Wonderful and spicy!

Dave 3 months ago

Flash-Fried Razor Clams

You never can go wrong at 42nd Street Cafe. You are always welcome and you always good marionberry concert jam and corn relish for your fresh rosemary bread.The old standbys of razor clams and pot roast are always perfectly prepared and yummy! I always like the specials especially some of the Cajun styles. Bon appétit!

Gene 3 months ago

Chicken-Fried Steak and Eggs

Best chicken fried on the beach among local restaurants which offer it. Also the breakfast sausage is the real thing, fresh everyday.

Jacque 3 months ago

Skillet-Fried Chicken

Awesome

Caroline 3 months ago

New Orleans' Style Beignets

OMG, their Bloody Mary's are a must to start your day, or anytime actually. You want more than one, but if you're driving you better stop after just one. It feels like a spicy meal in itself. Other must tries for breakfast/brunch are the New Orleans' Style Beignets (best on the peninsula) and Hangtown Fry (always fresh with oysters, bacon, and spinach). Don't forget to pick up a jar or two of their world famous marionberry jam before you leave, too.

Caroline 3 months ago

Best Bloody Mary On The Beach

OMG, their Bloody Mary's are a must to start your day, or anytime actually. You want more than one, but if you're driving you better stop after just one. It feels like a spicy meal in itself. Other must tries for breakfast/brunch are the New Orleans' Style Beignets (best on the peninsula) and Hangtown Fry (always fresh with oysters, bacon, and spinach). Don't forget to pick up a jar or two of their world famous marionberry jam before you leave, too.

Rcmorganx1 4 months ago

Cafe Au Lait

The staff wnt out of their way to ndure ckeanlinss and safety. The chickn fried steak tasted great and had a grat coating. The homemade jam had a great flavor. Even purchasd a jar to go. Highly recommended a stop when you're in town!

Mothersjoy 4 months ago

Russian "Vegetarian" Scramble

This is my favorite dish and I order it every time I visit 42nd St. It's breakfast comfort food: tasty, filling, and the portion size is just right.

Lbell0222 4 months ago

Marionberry Lemonade

This is a wonderful concoction. Been returning for each season to enjoy it. All the food is top notch. Can't be beat.

Rod 6 months ago

Hangtown Fry

It was excellent, perfectly cooked and tasty.

Deenzrn 7 days ago

Quiche O' The Day

Creamy, three cheese quiche with a delicious homemade crust. Excellent customer service!

Carpentercarrie about 1 month ago

House-Made Vanilla Brioche French Toast

delicious breakfast

Rachel about 1 month ago

Hand-Tossed Caesar Salad

Their caesar salad is one of the best I have had for year! It was lightly dressed and a good portion. My husband had the burger and it was perfect. We over heard the customers next to us have dietary concerns and the waitress went out of her way to make sure the food was safe. This is the best service on the peninsula, hands down!

Tracy & Tim about 2 months ago

Oyster Po Boy

The oysters are perfectly cooked -light and melt in your mouth accompanied with just the right amount of heat for a delicious sandwich.

Mike 2 months ago

Cheeseburger Classic

Every third or fourth time I come to the Cafe for breakfast I end up ordering the Cheeseburger Classic. The bun does a good job holding everything together without disrupting the party. The meat is well seasoned and delicious and it is the first thing you taste. The secret sauce is rather sweet but doesn't overpower the burger. Thinly sliced red onion, tomato and lettuce add additional layers of flavor and texture. I'm not a huge fan of dill pickles on my burgers but here they are the right counter point to the sweetness of the sauce and tie it all together. I recommend you add bacon. It is smokey and salty and adds even more flavor to the burger. I have to mention the shoestring fries. They are outstanding. Always cooked perfectly, a little crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside with just the right amount of salt.

Y 2 months ago

Chicken-Fried Steak and Eggs

I do not like chick fried steak and eggs but I loved this!🥰

Tim 3 months ago

Eight-Hour Pot Roast

I have to say, better than my Mom's, and she was an amazing cook

Mike 3 months ago

Eggs Benedict

If you're going to do a classic you'd better do it right and this is about as right as it gets. Fresh ingredients, well prepared and an excellent Hollandaise Sauce. Who could ask for anything more. OK, a good cup of coffee. They have that too.

Robins98856 3 months ago

Flash-Fried Razor Clams

Awesome!

Courtnay 3 months ago

New Orleans' Style Beignets

I've not been to New Orleans (yet!), so I cannot compare these beignets to classic ones. That disclaimer aside, these beignets are not to be missed. Start your breakfast at the 42nd with one and some good coffee and your day is sure to be a good one.

Jan 3 months ago

Fresh Quinault Razor Clams

Razor clams, crusted with saltines and quick fried to keep them tender! Add roasted red potatoes, and it's what I'd call one scrumptious dinner. Small order is one substantial clam, but you're going to want to get two in the large order, because they're just that good. Razor clams at the beach! And 42nd Street knows how to do them better than anyone on the peninsula! (I know, because I've eaten clams everywhere they're served around here, and I keep coming back to 42nd Street for the very best!) Major YUM!

Shari 3 months ago

Eight-Hour Pot Roast

Without a doubt my FAVORITE meal. My Sis and I go to LB for our respective birthdays and we MUST have the Roast beef dinner. It is always absolutely delicious. The beef is so tender and the sides are excellent! We missed my April birthday this year (pandemic) and are hoping for September.

Caroline 3 months ago

Hangtown Fry

OMG, their Bloody Mary's are a must to start your day, or anytime actually. You want more than one, but if you're driving you better stop after just one. It feels like a spicy meal in itself. Other must tries for breakfast/brunch are the New Orleans' Style Beignets (best on the peninsula) and Hangtown Fry (always fresh with oysters, bacon, and spinach). Don't forget to pick up a jar or two of their world famous marionberry jam before you leave, too.

Joseph 3 months ago

Butternut Squash Stuffed Ravioli

Succulent! We stayed at the Shelburne and did take-out on our porch. We loved the food so much the first night that we ordered again the second night. Razor clams, halibut special, beet salad- all yummy!

Jorgfammail 4 months ago

Pot Roast Hash and Eggs

Delicious!!!! I am a big Hash fan. They do great job at 42nd with it and everything else they do.

Andcrumb13 4 months ago

Pot Roast Hash and Eggs

This review is a tad late, but we found this bistro on an annual trip to the ocean. Our regular spot is Ocean Shores, so we weren't familiar with the Long Beach peninsula and picked this one due to it's easy-to-read online menu (I was sort of blind at the time) and what looked like a good selection of breakfast fare. As we were sat, the server told us of the pot roast hash, which wounded delicious to me! I ordered it and ate. It WAS delicious! Little did I know that this hash would become the apotheosis of hashes in my world and the standard by which all future hashes would be judged for the next 6 years...and counting! We are returning to Long Beach in a few months and THIS restaurant is on the short must-do list! We look forward to coming back and hope that the restaurant fully survives COVID-19. Not simply just for our sake, but we, too, felt the pinch of what happened to small businesses and urge people to support the businesses they care about.

Char 6 months ago

Brandied Cream of Tomato Soup

I used to have the brandied tomato soup recipe and I've misplaced it. I believe it was made with crushed tomatoes. I'm crushed because I can't find the original. Do you happen to have the original?

Keleigh 7 months ago

Brandied Cream of Tomato Soup

This has been a favorite since my first sip. I've used the recipe to make it myself but it's never as good. When I was going through chemo, it was the only thing that tasted good and contributed greatly to my well-being during treatment!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA